Look what we did!

When Dennis died, there was an emptiness that had to be filled and I took up painting.  At the time, I didn’t know whether I could really paint at all.  When I was 11, my Mom enrolled me in 3-hr/week art classes over the summer vacation but we worked with Watercolor and Point Perspective over the ten-week course.  When I began painting again, I chose to experiment in acrylics.

Over the past 10-months, there’s been a vast improvement so my friend, Marilyn convinced me to enter some paintings in the State Fair……Saturday, I found out that I placed 1st-place in the Beginner’s division, up against others who have been painting for up to 3-years!  I was floored!!  It wasn’t until Monday that I made my way to the fair to see for myself.  It was so unreal to see my painting of a Dalmation showcased with all the other winners.

Dennis was the reason for starting and then over time, he became my muse, my inspiration for painting.  I wish he were here to see what has been accomplished because of him.  I think he would have been proud of me.

I see things on tv about new shows that I know he would have loved and it makes me sad.  There’s so much that he’s missed and will be missing now that he’s gone,  I will keep painting for both of us and hopefully, this weekend, I can plant some Spring bulbs with a small amount of his ashes so that he will always be a part of this place where he spent some of the happiest moments of his life.

I still cry over my loss and for all the things he’s missed and will miss.  I still need him but he’s in my heart and in my paintings.  He will live on thru them and continue to be the inspiration for them.  It’s the least that I can do.  It’s the only thing that I can do to keep him alive in my heart.  No one can or will ever replace him….not ever.

About Elemental Diffusion

Quiet, laid-back, spiritually focused, a seeker of truth....difficult, opinionated...living more inside, participating less, observing more...thoughtful, analytic, keeping to myself --but need an outlet, a place to write so my head won't explode and I can stay fairly sane....old enough and experienced enough to have learned a few things along the way ---mostly the hard-way....Here, I expect to hold little back and write about a variety of life stories and about the people in my life and other strange encounters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look what we did!

  1. Pingback: Art of Glass painting | startachim blog

Leave a Reply

